Thursday, December 31, 2015

At Any Moment - Brenna Aubrey (Gaming the System #3)

Published Date: October 27, 2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Synopsis: It’s Dangerous to Go Alone!

Mia Strong never expected to be deciding the rest of her life at age twenty-two. Is she willing to become a human lab rat? Does she need to write a will? Does she ever want a family--and if so, with whom? She can't dodge the tough questions--not if she plans to live to see twenty-three. With her life hanging in the balance, Mia wants nothing more than to rely on Adam Drake, but he’s hurt her before.

You Must Gather Your Party Before Venturing Forth…

Adam Drake knows that he's made mistakes, but when he discovers what Mia's facing, he realizes how much those mistakes could cost him. Now he has to choose between being the man who can save Mia's life or the man she can love. No matter how much it tears him apart, Adam knows he has to put Mia first...even if it means he's out of the picture entirely.

Will their love survive this epic battle or is it game over?

This novel is the third and final book in Adam and Mia's trilogy, but they will be featured in future Gaming the System novels.


I kind of fell in love with Mia and Adam's relationship. Not because it was your typical virgin girl or your billionaire hottie. But because it was something real. I loved the switching of perspectives and I don't think that I could ever get enough of their story. So needless to say, I was sorry to see them go. 

It doesn't mean they won't appear again but rather as minor characters and not the main ones. Although, i wouldn't mind hearing more about other people's perspective and maybe Brenna will come out with Heath and Connor's relationship. I have been wanting to read theirs. 

You fell in love with the geekiness that came out with Mia and Adam. How they first met. How they became friends. How they met in person. God, they were such an awkward couple but I just cannot get enough of how cute their relationship is. 

This book faces some of the biggest problems in society. Women constantly feel like they have to live up to this perfect image but in reality, the man or woman, whichever way you swing, and it definitely makes us self conscience. I wish that everyone was confident people and didn't care what other people think about them. But wishes are for-- Okay, I had something clever but I can't think of anything right now.

Jordan is a nimrod but he is starting to warm up on me when he starts to become a little nicer to Mia for the sake of Adam. I mean, they are best friends and all. 

But truly, the final conclusion to Adam and Mia's story was absolutely thrilling. Time to get more of them. PLEASE AND THANK YOU BRENNA! It makes you want to answer the question. Will their love survive or fail?

I rate this book a solid 4 out of 5 stars. 

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Sisters (Movie Review)

Release Date: December 18, 2015
Genre: Comedy
Synopsis: 
When their parents place the family home on the market, siblings Maura (Amy Poehler) and Kate (Tina Fey) learn that they have one weekend to clean out the junk from their old bedroom. Unhappy with the news, the recently divorced Maura and her hotheaded sister make plans to throw one final bash to recapture their glory days with their former classmates. As the raging party begins to spiral out of control, the gals soon realize that there may not be a house left to sell once the dust settles.
This movie was full of pathos and vulgarity. You can't deny the humor of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler working together because together, they know what humor is. Although, it was sprinkled with a lot of as said above, vulgarity and F bombs. 

Nowadays, people think that humor is having explicit language and sometimes, people just over do it. Don't get me wrong, I was laughing on some parts and there was a certain part with Amy Poehler that I just cannot get enough of because it related to my friends and I so well. NO SPOILERS FOR THIS MOVIE.

This is a movie that is a one-time and done. A hit it and quit it kind of movie. Sad to see it because Baby Mama was hilarious. Unfortunately, this story only has funny quirks but it isn't the greatest movie to come to theaters.

It's sad because I truly was excited for this movie because it related to my sisterhood with my best friend. 

I rate this movie a solid 3.2 out of 5 stars. Again, not the greatest movie in the world but it did have its funny moments.

Blog you later, awesome nerds. 

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

ARC: Dirty Pleasures - Meghan March (Dirty Billionaire #2)


Dirty Pleasures by Meghan March
Book Two of The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy

Published Date: December 29, 2015

Blurb

Dirty Pleasures

I did it. I married a billionaire.

My reasons are my own, but the last thing I expected was to feel owned.

I may have taken vows, but I'm still determined to be me.

Now his rules are taking over my world, but I'm not the kind of girl to just obey.

There's only one problem: I might actually be falling for him…

I have no idea how this marriage is going to go, but holding onto a piece of myself while succumbing to his dirty pleasures is shaping up to be the ride of a lifetime.


Buy Now: Amazon | BN | iBooks

Review: 

Holy moly. This book was hot as hell and it was one of the quickest and dirtiest reads that I ever had the pleasure of reading. Holly is someone that you want to be. She fights hard for her dreams and she doesn't let anybody get in the way of it. Even her billionaire husband.

Was Fifty Shades of Grey playing into these series because I can see quite a few similarities. Not that I mind at all but damn. Creighton Karas actually might be falling in love with Holly and the same goes for her.

This relationship was only to be beneficial for them. In the first book, we only learned of the reason why Holly wanted to marry Creighton but in this one, we will learn why he wanted to marry her.

His story is kind of heartbreaking but it doesn't elaborate because it doesn't focus on it. It focuses on the development of Holly and Creighton.

I can't get enough of this series and Meghan March never fails to bring us the plot twisted feeling of her books. 

Good god. I need more of these series. Don't stop at book three.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

About Meghan March

Meghan March is the author of contemporary and erotic romance novels. Meghan March has been known to wear camo face paint and tromp around in woods wearing mud-covered boots, all while sporting a perfect manicure. She's also impulsive, easily entertained, and absolutely unapologetic about the fact that she loves to read and write smut. Her past lives include slinging auto parts, selling lingerie, making custom jewelry, and practicing corporate law. Writing books about dirty talking alpha males and the strong, sassy women who bring them to their knees is by far the most fabulous job she's ever had. She loves hearing from her readers at meghanmarchbooks@gmail.com.

Find Meghan March Online

More from the Dirty Billionaire Trilogy!



Dirty Billionaire: Release Date 12/08/2015

I've got a big dick and an even bigger bank account. That's pretty much where my bio ends.

Honestly, I don't need to say anything else. I've just sold 99% of women on going home with me.

Do I sound like an asshole to you?

That's because I am.

And guess what? It works for me just fine.

Or at least it did.

Until I met her.

Books talk about sparks flying. Fuck that shit. With her, it was like emergency flares mixed with jet fuel. Or maybe just straight up napalm.

Only one problem.

She wouldn't tell me her name or her number when she disappeared from the hotel room after the hottest fucking night of my life.

Now I've had a taste of unicorn pussy–the sweetest, rarest of all pussy–and I need it again.

So what's an asshole to do?

I took this problem to the street. A missed connection gone viral.

And when I find her? I'm keeping her.

Buy Now: Amazon | BN | iBooks



Dirty Together: Release Date 01/12/2015

My wife.

I love saying those words.

She's mine, and if she thinks I'm going to let her run without tracking her down and bringing her back to where she belongs–with me–then she's about to be introduced to a new reality.

Because I'll fight dirty to give her the happily ever after she deserves.

Preorder Now: Amazon | BN | iBooks





Hosted by:

Monday, December 28, 2015

SLACK - J.A. Huss (Rook & Ronin Novella)

Published Date: December 18, 2013
Genre: New Adult
Synopsis: Ford Aston is not too picky about what he wants out of Christmas. He’s not into this holiday—like at all. He doesn’t do presents, or family dinners, or parties, or church. 

He does pets. And he’s got one lined up for Christmas Eve. In fact, it’s the highlight of his day. And if he can get through drop-in visits, nosy twelve year olds, an inappropriate conversation with his best friend’s girlfriend, dinner with a family that’s not his, and a party at his mother’s house—well, he might just get home in time to enjoy himself with a stranger and make it all OK.

SLACK: A Day in the Life of Ford Aston, is a prequel to TAUT: The Ford Book, and can be read as a standalone novella.

Getting more insight into Ford Aston is definitely something I needed. When I first met him, I definitely rolled my eyes at him and asked who this arrogant bastard was. The more I read this novella, you learn even more about him and I could see my favorite messed up billionaire from Fifty Shades playing in here. I mean, tell me that you can see it because if you can't, then you need to read Fifty Shades again and get your eyes and mind checked.

I really cannot wait for Taut because I will get even more Ford in my life. Although he acts cocky and very arrogant, all he seeks for is acceptance and love. But I could see that he doesn't see himself to be loved. All he does are submissive because he is a dominant at hand and you can't ask for anything more because it is definitely hot.

Ford Aston is Christian Grey reincarnated and I don't mind at all where it leads me. Who doesn't want to have a day in Ford Aston because although he has a cold exterior, he just needs to warm up to you and you'll kind of want to put him on your book boyfriends list.

I rate this a good 3 out of 5 stars and it is only low because I want more and more and more.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Sunday, December 27, 2015

PANIC - J.A. Huss (Rook & Ronin #3)

Published Date: November 10, 2014
Genre: New Adult
Synopsis: Rook is chasing her dream-film school and a chance at a life beyond the one she ran from six months ago. But before she can become the girl she wants to be, she must deal with the girl she left behind. Ronin is also chasing his dream-a family of his own and a life away from erotic modeling. And he too, has a past he's trying to forget. A past that makes Rook question everything about their life together. Lies, secrets, and shocking truths will rock the foundation Rook and Ronin have built. Can they put the past behind them and move forward together? Or is this just another too good to be true relationship that will crash and burn in the end? 

Oh my god... This book was just an amazing conclusion to the Rook and Ronin series. It shows the fight for love and well, Clare can really drive you insane in this book. She only feels threatened by Rook and how amazing she is.

In this book, you will get a glimpse at how wonderful and strong Rook and Ronin's love for each other is. It will get pushed to its limits but you will see the lengths people go through for each other. I was avoiding to read these books because I didn't want them to end but this book really took my breath away.

I wanted to cry as Rook faces impossible odds ad she is an amazing person. Okay, I know how many adjectives I am using to describe this book but it is kind of impossible not to fall in love with Rook and Ronin. They are the ultimate ideal couple that everyone wants to be and have. 

I rate this book a good 4 out of 5 stars because you just can't get enough of Rook and Ronin. There are characters throughout that will make you want to pull your hair out because they don't understand the difficulties that these two went through and actually came together. 

Clare is someone I can't deal with nor Veronica but in a review to come soon, Veronica's side is shown more.

Continue the story with: 
(4) SLACK: A Day in the Life of Ford Aston 
(5) TAUT: The Ford Book 
(6) BOMB: A Day in the Life of Spencer Shrike 
(7) GUNS: The Spencer Book

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Saturday, December 26, 2015

It Was Always You - Brenna Aubrey (Gaming the System Novella)

Published Date: May 22, 2015
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Synopsis: It Was Always You, a Gaming The System short 

Friends discover their feelings are more than that but timing has never been on their side. 

When Jeremy, her brother’s best friend, came back into her life, Michaela cursed the fact that she was in a relationship with someone else. But now that she’s free, he’s dating her roommate. 

This is a contemporary romance novella with a happy ending. The characters exist in the same world as Brenna Aubrey’s bestselling Gaming The System series, but you don’t need to have read any of those books to enjoy this story. 

Good god, Michaela. You can't see that a man is pretty much loving you and they settled for second best with your roommate. Yeah, she's pretty and all but you can see that Tiffany does not like Mic for the fact that her boyfriend likes Mic more because they bond and stuff.

Short book but of course a happy ending. Jealous much over relationships? The timing is definitely bad and you do feel bad for Tiffany at the end. 


I don't have much to say about Mic and Jeremy, just because it was such a short book and you didn't really get to bond with them for very long. You only knew little snips of their life together and didn't get the full feel. It was rushed and definitely should not have been only a novella. Their story was cute but not long enough.


Time to go back to Mia and Adam in the third installment of the story. Brenna is someone that I enjoy reading because she makes her books super steamy and yet romantic at the same time, all while being heartbreaking. I rate this book a good 2.8 out of 5 stars.

"His eyes returned to mine. All his features, his coloring looked like shades of deep blue in the faint light of this mountain evening. 'That it was always you.' Those words seemed to trail out between his lips, mix with that phantom breath, coalesce into something otherworldly between us. My throat tightened and I swallowed."

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Friday, December 25, 2015

ARC: Not The One - Amy Daws (London Lovers #4)

Happy Holidays, everyone! 
Published Date: December 7, 2015
Genre: New Adult
Synopsis: My name is Reyna Miracle. Even though a part of my name is Miracle, there’s nothing miraculous about me. My body portrays the tales of my life. Every feeling, every heartbreak, every emotion. Marked. Inked. Stained. A walking canvas of my messed up truth. But there’s one confession I can’t put in a tattoo. A confession that will kill me to tell, but my best friend died before I had the chance. Now I’m left with him. The only one who can hold me in the night and squeeze that spot on my neck that feels like my lifeline between sanity and chaos. But we don’t work together. We’re absolute poison for each other. We’re a stifling, suffocating, sickness of darkness. But I feel safe...because I’ve made an art of pushing people away. Now he’s pushing back… And making me believe... Making me wonder... Maybe, just maybe... I could be the one

Reyna Miracle is someone that is bratty and someone you will just hate. She pushes every single person away and their buttons every time that she gets too close. It switches time periods and so you get really confused and by the end, you were kind of relieved it was over.

Like come on, Reyna, you have a bunch of people who love and care about you and you kind of just run away from the idea of love. I mean, don't get me wrong. I want guidance when I am growing up and if I had a mother who smiled and encouraged everything that I did without telling me what is wrong and what is right. She apparently didn't mind that Reyna got her first tattoo at the age of 15 and there's a point in the book where you scream, "WTF" but it shows a bit more into the life of Reyna.

Her body is a work of art however. It tells every single significant point in her life and you can't blame her. She went through a lot: Losing her best friend, losing her sisters, her dad, best friend's brother, and the love of her life.

The guys in this book sounds attractive and all but I don't think that I could ever add them onto my book boyfriends list because well, they are raunchy as hell and they have no filters. This book was twist after twist and you kind of felt a bit bad for her after a while.

I WANT TO FEEL SOMETHING FROM THIS BOOK but I didn't. Sadly. I can rate this book a 3 out of 5 stars and maybe it was because I didn't really connect with Reyna in the other books and I was thrust into the London Lovers series.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

MANIC - J.A. Huss (Rook & Ronin #2)

Published Date: November 10, 2014
Genre: New Adult
Synopsis: TRAGIC is over and Rook is ready for the future-Spencer Shrike and the STURGIS contract! It's three months of body art modeling! That means three months of Spencer Shrike's paintbrush all over her body, three months in front of Antoine's camera, and three months of twenty-four-hour filming for Spencer's Biker Channel reality show. Wait a minute... what reality show? Maybe she should've read that STURGIS contract a little closer? Sure, Rook's bank account is overflowing, but Ronin is angry, Clare is trying to escape rehab, Antoine is a worried mess, and Elise is just trying to hold everyone together. Rook's new family is about to fall apart before she even gets the chance to enjoy it.

Oh man, this book was just hot, hot, hot and in all honesty, I would love Spencer's paintbrush all over me because well, it seems artistic and you can barely tell if they are naked or not. (Don't know from experience but I figured I would take Julie Huss's word from her books ;) )

Now, this puts a rift in Rook and Ronin's relationship because of the whole alpha male thing. It's almost like "ME, MAN, YOU, WOMAN." All they want to do is protect them and in all honesty, this book, it revisits Rook's past and it has you on your toes the entire time. Rook is a strong individual and just a main character that you love right from the start. The strongest are the people who are often at their weakest.

God, there are some aspects in this book that had you wanting to strangle some of the characters but in all honesty, I think that Rook and Ronin's relationship turned to be stronger than ever before after this book. It is damn well a relationship that everyone can dream of. You meet the guy of your dreams at your new job while starting over. Needless to say, I swoon for Ronin.

I love Rook and Ronin's story so far and I am never disappointed as to where they take me next. I just absolutely enthralled in every single aspect and I really think that everyone should give this series a try and also just because Julie A. Huss is a complete sweetheart when you join her secret fan page, the Shrike Bikers. ;) I never understood this name until now.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

TRAGIC - J.A. Huss (Rook & Ronin #1)

Published Date: December 16, 2013
Genre: New Adult
Synopsis: How far are you willing to go to start over?

Rook Walsh is homeless, jobless, and down to her last ten bucks when opportunity knocks her in the head and delivers a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Antoine Chaput knows the minute he spies Rook in his studio that she's got The Look. The dark and desperate look he must have to land the exclusive TRAGIC media contract.

Rook is paired up with top model Ronin, and he knows exactly what to do to make her blush for Antoine's camera. Her luck changes in an instant and suddenly she's got more attention and exposure than she can handle--both in front of the camera and behind the scenes.

God, words cannot explain how amazing this book was. I was enthralled reading about Rook's story. It was not only compelling but it was something that was utterly tragic and heartbreaking. I cried a little during this book as Rook's life started to unfold. 

You kept questioning what happened in Rook's past life and what made her want to leave but as her story unfolds, you regret asking. There aren't any words to say what you want to actually say because this book is kind of messed up. Utterly and upmost one of the saddest books that I have read. 

By the middle of the book, you question, is Rook even ready for a relationship like this? Is she ready for a new job, new life, and new love? That's the real question as you start Rook and Ronin's life together. 

I really don't want to spoil how good this book is because it really was just fantastic and if you're in for a good read, this is a book that needs to be added onto your TBR list. 

I read this on my break, I read it while waiting for my work, on the train, on road trips. You can definitely expect to see some romance as they start to fix each other to be the best that they can be. 

This story is all about new beginnings and leaving the past where it should stay. But it also shows how the past can haunt us to the point of frustration and insanity.

You can easily rate this a solid 4 out of 5 stars because not everything is overrated and there are some alpha males that will have you fanning yourself by the end of this book. You'll cry for Rook and with her. You'll just love this book in general. I kind of bled into MANIC right away so that review will be out soon as well.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Promotion: Dangerous Liaisons - T.C. Archer




Dangerous Liaisons by Tarah Scott

Release Date: December 26, 2015
Genre: Romance/Action

Blurb

Being an agent revoked her license to love . . . until she met the man sent to kill her.
Jesse Evans' most recent mission turns deadly when Colombian mercenaries ambush her and her informant. She races across the jungle to warn the Special Ops team she sent to save an American Senator's young daughter, but arrives just as the team is slaughtered by drug runners.
Within the hour, branded as the traitor who leaked the mission intelligence, Jesse Evans is now the most wanted woman in the world. She must prove she didn't sell out the team or her sister dies. Only one man can save them both, but that man isn't who Jesse thinks he is…and she can't afford to fall in love with him.

Available From


About Tarah Scott


Best-selling author Tarah Scott cut her teeth on authors such as Georgette Heyer, Zane Grey, and Amanda Quick. Her favorite book is a Tale of Two Cities, with Gone With the Wind as a close second. She writes modern classical romance, and paranormal and romantic suspense. Tarah grew up in Texas and currently resides in Westchester County, New York with her daughter.

Find Tarah Scott Online

Hosted by:

Monday, December 21, 2015

Anarchy Found - J.A. Huss (Super Alpha #1)

Published Date: December 2, 2015
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: Everyone needs a hero.

That’s what Detective Molly Masters tells me. “What we need,” she says, “what the whole world needs,” she pleads, “is a champion.”

The only thing I want to talk about with Molly Masters is how I’d like to make her scream my name when I push her up against a wall, slide my hand up her thigh, and live out my wildest fantasies.

“Someone who will fight against injustice,” she says.

I’ll fight against anything you want, honey. Just come a little closer.

“Someone who will stand tall in the face of adversity,” she says.

I’ll do it standing, sitting, or lying down. See how easy I am?

“Someone who believes in the value of a good deed,” she says.

I believe in the value of me, sweetheart. Because I’m Lincoln Wade. Jaded genius, obscenely wealthy, capable of violence, and looking for revenge.

Molly Masters might have delusions of grandeur. She might see me as some superman capable of cleaning up the scum, filth, and corruption in Cathedral City.

But I’m not the hero she’s looking for.

I’m the dark alley where all her good intentions hide.

So be careful what you wish for, Molly Masters.

Because you’re about to get it. 

Oh hot damn, this book has got its hooks in me and it definitely shows a different side to the regular old superhero novels. You will want the super villain after this story. How an alpha man is brought to his knees by his omega. He is only an alpha in the bed and damn it all to hell, it was hot. 

"You're not in charge here, Molly. I am." It might piss her off, but I don't want to go there yet. I just want this one time where we don't have to think about who and what I've become since she last saw me. "So don't start acting like you are. I've got you down in a cave, on my bed, and naked. If there's any doubt about why you're here, you better get up and walk out now. Because in five seconds I'm gonna fuck the ever-loving shit out of you. I'm gonna make you my prisoner. I'm gonna keep you here until I'm good and satisfied. And if I ever let you leave, I'm going to expect a date and time when you'll be back. And do you know why I'm gonna do all that?"

You just kind of fall in love with the men that J.A. Huss creates and you just cannot seem to get enough. I want Lincoln and I want him now. But I always feel like that when it comes to her men. So add him onto my book boyfriends list. 

This story will have you wanting more and more of Molly and Lincoln's love story. Tragic. You'll just keep reading J.A. Huss after this. I give her much praise for giving super heroes and super villains a new twist. A new perspective.

It was definitely refreshing to read and I loved the book for its words. I got lost within this book and the pages. Their story made me want to cry throughout the entire thing as we learned the past of each of the main characters. Though, they met under dire circumstances, you just kind of had to fall in love with Molly's spunkiness and Lincoln's gruff manner. 

He shields her as much as he can but it goes the other way as well and there is a damn good plot twist in this story that will make you turning the page one after another and you just cannot stop. I want to share with you guys so much about what I loved about this book but I just don't want to spoil this book. You are just going to have to one click this book and trust me on this. 

"I love you."
"I started loving you the moment you lit up my life, Molly. now open up all the presents and I'll see you in an hour."

Okay, I will admit. I am jealous of Molly because she has a boyfriend who will spoil the ever loving shit out of her and well, I want that to. I laughed at this part and I think that you will too as soon as you buy this book get here. Molly and Lincoln are definitely a one of a kind relationship. 

YOU. WILL. LOVE. THIS. STORY. I mean, Lincoln is a hot man who just will shake your world up and his uniqueness as a character will make you want him even more. He's a rare man and you won't catch another man like him again. 

Sorry for the shouty capitals but again, I really am not. Go get this book if you love the mix of thrilling romances with hot super heroes. I rate this book a good 4.5 out of 5 stars. Get me more of Lincoln and don't make me wait too long. STAT.

"You are my beginning," I say.
"And you're my end, Molly. Everything ends with you."
"With us," I say, correcting him.
"With us," he repeats.
"You saved me, Alpha."
"No," he says, kissing me on the neck and biting my earlobe. "I didn't save anyone. You saved yourself. And don't you ever forget that. You're the superhero with all the power and I am nothing with you."

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Sunday, December 20, 2015

Blog Tour: Sinners and Saints - Ambear Shellea




Sinners and Saints by AmBear Shellea

Publication Date: February 13, 2014
Genre: Action/Romance
Synopsis: Vylette Echo is a spunky college student who goes from a nightmare come true to an offer she won't refuse.
Join Vylette as she fights for her life and her freedom after she is jumped, blindfolded and kidnapped from the only life she knows. Another twist of fate lands her before Dorrian Buchanan, a tall handsome millionaire who deals in the buying of woman. Once in his custody, things are not what they seem. Now she knows the truth and is presented with a proposal. Whatever her choice, it won't be an easy one. The hour is upon her, she has made her decision.
 

Available From


About AmBear Shellea


Creativity is my addiction and writing is my drug of choice.
Although I have always enjoyed writing, the dream to become a writer came when I read A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare, in the sixth grade. My early works, not published, were in the form of children's stories I would read to my two daughters. I divide my days between the real world and the ones I've created. My life and my characters keep me very busy in my Mid-Western scene, where I live with my husband, and my children (both human and furry).

Find AmBear Shellea Online

Teaser

Chapter 1
The thunder of Vylette's heartbeat pounding in her head deafened almost every sound around her. Flames of fear burned in her chest, constricting her breathing and the blind fold knotted in her hair was paving the way for a oncoming migraine. Her wrists were on fire from the course ropes as she yanked and pulled trying to get free. Tears fell like rain down her face, soaking her fight torn shirt. Dried mud scratched at her exposed skin through her ripped jeans and overwhelmed by fear, she barely noticed the cold tile under her bare feet.
The commotion of heavy boots and nasty voices coming closer stopped her dead in her tracks. She tried to calm her breathing and focus on the direction of her advancing visitors. Smug inappropriate comments helped to pinpoint they were just a few feet away and on her left. She kept as still as possible until grubby rough hands jerked her from the chair she sat on.
"No! Get your hands off me!"
Head butting and kicking, she did her best to fight off the men dragging her to only God knows where. She didn't know what they had planned but she knew she were safer without them.
What felt like fire scored her face when one of the men hit her. She dropped to the ground, crying and spitting blood out of her mouth. The bright stars in her line of vision seemed to blink in tune with the pounding in her ears.
She barely had time to take a breath before another blow, to the ribs and head this time, threatened to send her into unconsciousness. Already tense and rolling around in agony, it took only a few more hits and she stopped moving, stopped fighting, trying to catch her breath and breathe passed the pain.
They are going to kill me.
To save the small amount of strength she had left, she let them pull her from the floor. Every muscle, every bone and every nerve ending screamed in pain throughout her entire body and she had to lean into one of the men as she worked to walk. Each step was a roller coaster of agony, highs and lows in different degrees. Some stole her breath, some shattered her silence and the highest peak promised the dark oblivion.
She hadn't realized her blindfold came off until the unnatural shine of the light blasted her eyes. Squinting against the glare she noticed they were in an otherwise darkened hallway only illuminated by huge caged lights nailed to the ceiling about every ten feet or so. Her gaze darted as much as she could allow given her swollen eyes to make out her surroundings. The long hall was lined with doors every few feet, all painted in red with the exception of the wide wooden door at the end of the hallway.
As they moved closer to the door she spotted some kind of symbol carved into the wood, separated by a small sliver of light showing where one panel met the other. Getting closer every second, the symbol on the door became clear. The body of a coiled snake, it's severed head laying apart from the body. It was a gruesome sight even in wood.
The blood splatter along the floor and walls only deepened her gut wrenching fear burning away any pain she felt. Once again her panicked breathing had her chest on fire and her muscles flexing in protest with every inch closer to that door.
Her captors must have noticed because she soon found herself held by the two men strong arming her into submission. Battling the fear of the unknown, her mind going into overdrive sending flashes of every horror movie she ever watched, had her kicking like a crazed animal.
Putting weight on her heels, she tried to halt their advance. The meaty hands as strong as bars only gripped her tighter, lifted her off the ground and carried her the remaining distance and through the door.
Hosted by:

Saturday, December 19, 2015

ARC: Pointe of Breaking - Amy Marie Daws and Sarah J. Pepper

Published Date: July 21, 2015 
Genre: New Adult 
Synopsis: When Ivy League & Tutus Collide 
A collaboration by Amy Daws & Sarah J. Pepper 

POINTE
Getting screwed over backstage by my married-ex tears my heart into a million tiny pieces.
[Sitting in the audience at the ballet with my former fling wasn’t my idea of fun.]

I live in my pointe shoes, not even my ex can taint my love for ballet. 
[I hate the ballet. This on again/off again crap was getting old.]

And then my whole world changes when I notice the smoldering gaze…
[Then I look to the stage, and I can’t take my eyes off…]

OF...
Leo Richards. 
[Adeline Parker.]

Concentrating on anything except his sexy…everything, is impossible.
[Her presence commands my attention…I’ve never experienced this before.]

He makes me second-guess everything I’ve ever dreamed about.
[She makes me question everything I’ve ever known.]

Fighting him is a strategic sport—no clothes allowed. 
[All I can think about are her sexy ballerina legs wrapped around me—tutu definitely on.]

BREAKING
Our scandalous rendezvous is plastered all over NYC’s tabloids.
[Because of my status in Manhattan, now I’ve dragged her into the limelight.] 

My ex will stop at nothing to tear us apart. 
[Seriously powerful people forbid me to be with her.]

Rumors about his past keep building. 
[I can’t tell her this secret.]

When it came to Leo, I only knew the big things.
[When it came to Adeline, I knew nothing about the little things.]

But uncovering those things about him [her] may push us past our breaking point.

God that is long ass synopsis and blurb but in reality, I actually enjoyed this book considering that I read 42 chapters within a day and just couldn't put down the book. I mean, Adeline is someone that will drive you insane with her actions. It doesn't just focus on Adeline's perspective because it switches point of views from Leonardo, hottie with a swimmers body, and Addy.

The book starts off in a rocky path because you learn that she is self-depricating. A real Negative Nancy, as my best friend likes to call me. She looks in the mirror and only sees her identical twin sister and she constantly berates herself in her head. She never thought she was good enough.

Then, guess who comes back into the story? The man who tore down her walls and is such a snob. I mean, she lets him take advantage of her because she never got over him and when he whispered sweet nothings to her, she was brought to her knees. But in reality, he was sabotaging every single thing that Adeline worked for since their break up. 

Her eyes find Leonardo and she uses him as her muse. Damn. It made me reminisce in the times that I was a kid and had dreams of becoming a ballerina. Now? Seeing what Adeline goes through at ballet school, I knew I made the right choice to drop out while I could. 

This story was heart-wrenching to say the least and I felt this story. I was immersed in the love, the hate, the good, the bad. This book puts you through an emotional turmoil because of the fact that Adeline pushes you through these emotions and it makes you want to hit her for being like this.

In all honesty, her as a MC is just really annoying because she is supposedly independent but she relies on guys to take care of her. In the book, you'll just be really annoyed with her because she's almost too stupid to learn from her mistakes. But in this book, you just have to overlook it because in the end, she is just trying to find herself even if it is in the weirdest way possible. 

I like Adeline and what she stands for. She's strong. She's smart. She overlooks all of the alpha males surrounding her and knows how to stand her ground.

Anyways, I will go ahead and rate this a good 3.5 out of 5 stars and I am really excited to read more of what Amy Marie Daws brings to her readers.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Friday, December 18, 2015

Oblivion - Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux #1.5)

Published Date: December 1, 2015
Genre: Young Adult
Synopsis: Experience the epic love story of OBSIDIAN as told by its hero, Daemon Black…

I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.

And trouble’s the last thing I need, since I’m not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there’s one thing I know, it’s that humans can’t be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. ‘Cuz they are.

But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and I can't stop myself from wanting her—or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I’m the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl…she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy—the Arum, and I need to stay on my game.

Falling for Katy—a human—won't just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that’s one thing I’ll never let happen...
 


I was raving the hell out of this book and I got it in both paperback and e-book. Why you ask? The paperback only has one book out of three in Daemon's point of view and book nerds, I need my Daemon and for him to make some alien babies with because I mean, look at that face and those eyes are definitely something die for.

He is the alpha male around school. Every guy is either jealous of him or wants to be him. Every girl wants to be with him. That is, until he meets Kitten... I mean, Kat. She's feisty as hell and you'll understand why he calls her that nickname. 

At the hands of Jennifer L. Amentrout and her impossible expectations that she sets for men is a bit harsh but I love the way my heart melts at the sounds of her words. Needless to say, I needed a lot of damn tissues for this book and to be honest, when Jennifer L. Armentrout told us that she was writing a book in Daemon's perspective, I dropped all things and got on the freaking internet. 

Daemon tries to act like a macho man especially around Kat to scare her off. I love Kat because she can stand her ground and that is what pushed me to actually want to continue the stories. I hate stories with girls who cannot take care of themselves. Like are you kidding me? We are women. We aren't helpless. She also was the reason why I started a blog. I mean, you just kind of had to seeing how much fun Katy was having with it. 

Here, I will insert a huge thank you to other bloggers and authors for giving me early copies of their books to read them. Of course, I get an influx of them right around finals week. DAMN YOU! I want to read and not study now!

Gosh. Well, rant over. As Daemon told his perspective, you kind of got over the fact that he was being a butthole to Katy from her perspective (the original Lux series) because he had valid reason to be that way. He didn't want to get close with a human. I mean, haven't you heard of human cooties? Duh. Well, I think that he was in all honesty, the sweetest freaking thing on the planet and you can't get over it. 

By the second book (in e-book version only), you kind of get annoyed with Kat and Blake, Bart, Brock, whatever his name is. He's not important. All I can say about him is that he is so annoying. I mean, he was annoying Kat's perspective but now that I read Daemon's, I just want to strangle that kid. 

By the third... I was in tears. I was so done with everything and I fell into a book hole. I just don't know where to go from here because I need more aliens in my life. 

Sigh... Goodbye, my sweet Daemon. UGH! Pain to my heart! I rate this a 4.8 out of 5 stars because well Jennifer never disappoints me. 

Anyways... Blog you later, awesome book nerds. See you next time. 


 
DESIGN BY THE BLOG DECORATOR