Sunday, July 31, 2016

ARC: Dirty Work - Chelle Bliss & Brenda Rothert

Published Date: July 26, 2016
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: From authors Chelle Bliss and Brenda Rothert comes a smoldering standalone enemies to lovers romance that will, ahem…check all your boxes.  

I hate him. Jude Titan is everything that’s wrong with the male sex: cocky, domineering and loaded with swagger. Oh, and did I mention he’s a Republican? Yeah, the guy’s so conservative he leans to the right when walking. And lucky me, I’m running against him for Senate. But I’ve got plenty of fight in me. A golden boy war hero opponent with a smile that leaves melted panties in its wake? Bring. It. On.
Damn, she’s sexy. Reagan Preston intrigues me from the moment I lay eyes on her. And speaking of laying…I want between those thighs. But I want to make her burn for me first. Every debate and stolen moment is foreplay for us. She claims she hates me, but her body tells a different story. I plan to win this election, but I also want to win the sharp, fiery Democrat who captures my attention like no woman ever has. Politics is filthy, just like all the things I want to do to Reagan Preston. 


Review: Is it possible to love this book more than 5 stars? 

I was iffy on reading this book because I have never read Brenda Rothert. I have loved Chelle Bliss but reading new authors often scare me because I am scared of being failed in the love-for-books department for them. However, after reading this, I think I can deal with how dirty politics are. 

If it's like this. 

Reagan and Jude will make your heart pound and be all fluttery on the inside. 


I cannot believe that I didn't read this right off the bat because not only was it filthy. It was a wonderful story of two people coming apart at the seams, ready to burst under the power struggle of politics, coming together. Keeping each other together. Loving each other. Finding each other. 

5 Filthy stars.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.


Brenda Rothert is an Illinois native who was a print journalist for nine years. She made the jump from fact to fiction in 2013 and never looked back. From new adult to steamy contemporary romance, Brenda creates fresh characters in every story she tells. She’s a lover of Diet Coke, chocolate, lazy weekends and happily ever afters.


Chelle Bliss, USA Today Bestselling author, currently lives in a small town near the Gulf of Mexico. She's a full-time writer, time-waster extraordinaire, social media addict, and coffee fiend. She's written over thirteen books and has three series available. She loves spending her free time with her boyfriend, 2 cats, and her hamster.
Before becoming a writer, Chelle taught high school history for over ten years. She holds a master's degree in Instructional Technology and a bachelor's in history. Although history is her first love, writing has become her dream job and she can't imagine doing anything else.

Saturday, July 30, 2016

Untethered - Katie Hayoz

Published Date: April 3, 2013
Genre: Paranormal
Synopsis: Sylvie isn’t comfortable in her own skin. In fact, there are times she can’t even manage to stay inside it. But if there is one thing she’s sure of, it’s her love for Kevin Phillips. She’s willing to stake everything on it –her family, her friends, and possibly her soul.

Sixteen-year-old Sylvie has been best friends with Cassie forever. But everything is turned around when the boy Sylvie’s loved since fifth grade falls for Cassie. Devastated, Sylvie intends to get Kevin by any means possible, even if it involves treachery, deceit, and the dark side of astral projection. She is positive her plans will give her what she wants, but she doesn’t count on it all spiraling out of control.

Untethered explores the intoxicating and dangerous world of jealousy and obsession when coupled with paranormal ability. Finalist in Mslexia novel competition.

Sadly, this book did not grip me to any means. I was excited to read this book but I had lost interest immediately. The writing wasn't awful but it did not grab as writing should. The main character is rather childish with her antics throughout the book because she did not get the boy of her dreams and rather her friend did.

My thought process: "What? Why? What?" Off and on throughout my head and unfortunately this is a book that I could not finish although I do like paranormal stories. Delving into the world of jealousy and obsession, we find out what really makes Sylvie tick.

Though this is not the book for me, perhaps it will be for others.  Although it pains me for not finishing a book, there is not much that I could do to help myself but to stop reading this.

At a do not finish, did not finish, will not finish, and 2 stars out of 5 stars, I will blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Friday, July 29, 2016

Body Heat - Madeline Parr

Published Date: May 16, 2016
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: Step inside Body Heat, the premier adult playground for the rich and famous, where the sex is as hot as a house on fire and anything can—and does—happen. . . 

Ivy’s marriage went seriously sideways three years ago and she still hasn’t recovered. She’s done with men, except when it comes to sex. She walks into Body Heat determined to score some smoking hot, no-strings-attached fun. 

Combat veteran Max is just as damaged as Ivy. The millionaire adrenaline junkie has discovered a certain measure of peace when he’s skydiving, rock climbing, or tearing around on his motorcycle. His visit to Body Heat is just one more attempt to quiet the chaos in his head. 

Scorching encounters soothe their troubled souls. Ivy’s razor-sharp boundaries start to crumble, and Max discovers that falling in love is the biggest thrill of all. Will their fledgling romance survive when demons from the past resurface? 

Body Heat is a 40,000-word standalone erotic romance. No cliffhangers, no cheating. Just lots of steamy encounters and a guaranteed happily-ever-after. 

As the blurb told you: Body Heat is the club that is the hottest and the most secretive to serve their customers. From their first encounter, you felt the sparks emitting from this couple. They play with each other and not in the bad way either. They are more or less building up the sexual tension between them and then it hits that moment. 

You as a reader feel like you have waited forever on it. Madeline Parr does not disappoint on delivering her happily-ever after erotic format. This will clench you and make you question Fifty Shades of Grey because in my personal opinion: This trumps that. 

Body Heat is a place to go to and if real. Bringing broken people together is one of the most satisfying encounters to read. Demons will be vanquished in this book and you will learn to fall in love. 

With a 4 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Pieced Together - Kelly Moore (Broken Pieces #2)

Published Date: March 29, 2016
Genre: Erotica
Synopsis: Kyren couldn’t get over killing Brogan’s father, even though he did it to save her. The demons of his own past took control, and he left her when she needed him most. In the aftermath of their agonizing breakup, Kyren and Brogan sought healing on very different paths. She moved to a remote island in Maine and started a new life, while he isolated himself on his yacht, and almost drowned in booze and guilt. After three long years, they’re each in a good place. Neither can forget the intense, passionate love they shared, but they’re both sure it’s over for good. Too much time has passed. There’s too much old hurt. 

Fate intervenes, however, and places Kyren on Brogan’s doorstep. For both of them, it’s like they were never apart. His body craves hers, and she immediately longs to submit to his magnetism. Brogan is terrified of giving in to their passion. Can he be the man she needs him to be? Will he break her heart again? She’s not the same person she was back then. She’s stronger, and she has a big secret. Has he learned from his own demons? And most importantly, when she comes clean, will he be able to handle the truth? 

As so learned from the first book, Kelly Moore loves to switch up the POVs without any notice. Mainly this is in Kyren's voice and his demons lie along the lines of PTSD. One of the worst things something can happen. With Brogan's help, he was able to release some of it but from the first book, he left because he didn't think that he could ever protect her after the whole ordeal on learning and experiencing her story of her father's abuse. 

Three years ago, they were broken. But together, they pieced each other back together again and created the best of the best of their character. Finding your way back home is truly a beautiful thing as Kyren romances Brogan yet again. But there is another character that he needs to win over -- Several new characters. 

As Kyren likes to call it, fate has brought them back together but as fate will have it, it will most likely tear them apart. 

With a 3.2 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Broken Pieces - Kelly Moore (Broken Pieces #1)

Published Date: September 10, 2015
Genre: Erotica
Synopsis: His touch is scorching hot and rough, just how I like it. It's just sex. I don't believe in love, but he makes me feel things I have never felt. I want to try. I want to trust him with my secrets, but there is a good chance he will leave. He will see how broken I am. He is what I need to fix the broken pieces of my heart. At a very young age, violence and secrets forced Brogan to escape the only life she knew. Now a young woman with a good career, she hopes to finally forget her past. She is tormented by demons in her dreams, and it has threatened every sexual relationship she has ever had. Brogan meets Kyren Nolan, a sexy ex-military man. He is a yacht builder who has made his own wealth. He knows what he wants the minute he meets Brogan. He wants her, and his first meeting with her lands him on the ground. He doesn't take no for an answer. They start a passionate affair that turns into more. He teaches her that a gentle touch can create as much heat between them. They both struggle for control. But Kyren has his own scars and secrets. When their pasts collide, will they be able to overcome the broken pieces of both their lives together?

This was an interesting book to read from an erotic point of view because although there were certain points of that aforementioned genre, it didn't focus on that. I would rather call this a tragedy in the making.

Lies, secrets, and scars will be revealed and it will make your heart burn with animosity for the characters that did that to make the characters the way they are. Although it wouldn't have been a pretty decent book without this. Now working this book, you learn how broken people can truly be.

Breaking down walls and vanquishing the demons of the past: It will be a challenge for these characters as they give and take the strength that they need.

With the version that I received, there were safety precautions taken because the formatting really threw me off and so it took me a lot longer to read the book than it should have. I understand that they are precautions but there should be a level of trust between authors and certain bloggers.

Anyways, the POV changes a lot -- at least I think so -- between the two main characters.

Deep seated issues come out in this book and it truly is terrifying that this does happen to some families and we are truly unaware of these aforementioned issues. Kelly Moore does a pretty good job at creating this sub plot build up to the climax.

Though this didn't keep you on your toes as wanted, it still was a decent novel to read. So with a 3 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

The Golden Owl - Lana Axe (Clockwork Calico #1)

Published Date: April 20, 2016
Genre: Young Adult
Synopsis: Calico Cogg is a cat like no other. Rescued from the streets of Ticswyk by esteemed inventor Lionel Cogg, she has been fitted with implants to enhance her natural feline abilities. When Lionel is kidnapped, Cali must put her skills to the test to free him. 

Dark schemes are in the works—a plague of tiny clockwork spiders are wreaking havoc on the city’s inhabitants. Only Cali, with help from her trusted mouse friend Emmit, can get to the bottom of it all. With a criminal mastermind planning a major heist, Cali must race against time to unravel his plot before he escapes with the city’s greatest treasure. 

Calico is definitely one of a kind. She fits the full description of a cat except for the fact that she is a cyborg kitty. Not only is she the faithful companion that you want, but she is also some superhero and this book proves just that. 

Teamed up with her trusty friend, Emmit the mouse, they take on the challenge of freeing the city of its dark schemes. But the question is, is will they be successful in doing so? 

Part of the Clockwork Calico series, we get introduced to a variety of characters, giggle along with their antics, and follow their adventures. Being a hyper-feline character, she truly is a gifted and original character that I have come across. 

With a 3.7 out of 5 stars, you must get to know the characters as well.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Monday, July 25, 2016

Uncovering Officer Smith - Sheena Hutchinson

Published Date: May 16, 2016
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: John Smith has been hurt before by a mysterious blonde that tumbles out of his cop car. Since she stomped on his heart, he's made sure he'll never feel that way again. He has developed two rules: Never more than one night and never a blonde.

The nerdy and conservative Becca Swanson has a plan for her life: college, law school, and rule the world. Nothing and no one will get in her way. That is, until she wakes up in a stranger's bedroom with no recollection of the night before.

This one tumultuous night caused these two to cross paths. Becca is everything John told himself he didn't need. Smart, sexy, and -- blonde. When she becomes the victim of one of his cases he finally can't deny the connection anymore. Worst of all, he's beginning to fall harder than ever before.

It throws his rules and her plans out the window. Could it have been fate? Or will it become the biggest mistake either of them has ever made?

Uncovering Officer Smith was not a steady plot and yet it was hopeful throughout. You meet Officer John Smith --- Hold up, John Smith? So clever and so basic. I love it. Cue in the girl. 

This is the classic story of the guy who saves the girl. Bad things happen and it is the classic story of the girl who finds her place in the big world. Problems will constantly try to break them apart and they fight to come back one another. 

It took me a while to get into the book but once you get passed the first couple chapters, you kind of love the characters right off the bat. Officer Smith can be on my book boyfriends list. 

Interesting read because this plot line jumped all over the place but also came together in a specific sense. I loved it as a book in whole but it is not on my read-again list anytime soon. 

So with a 3.7 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Sunday, July 24, 2016

ARC: Hitman's Baby - Holly Hart

Published Date: July 11, 2016
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: "I didn't tell Roman he had a son. I didn't know."
This town was going to sh*t long before I got here. Alexandria's the kind of place that attracts the scum of the earth - people like me. It's a real mob city. The only person doing a damn thing to turn it round was Ellie. But I barely met her before her abusive ex stole her away - and left her in a coma.
I'll remember the night we shared until my dying day. Fate snatched her away from me once, but this time I'm not giving him a say. Ellie's been hurt more in her life than anyone I've ever met. So when Victor Antonov put a hit out on her, I knew I had to stop it. I had to save her. Victor's about to find out what happens when you threaten the woman I love. 
I'm going to make him pay.
I don't remember what happiness feels like.
Four years with Rick saw to that. When the police locked him away, Roman showed me how to feel again, how to hope - and how a man should treat his lady. And then Rick broke out of jail. Seeing him in that dark alleyway was the last thing I remember. And I forgot. I forgot everything: love, and hope - and even Roman himself.
Now my life's in the balance, and every gangster in Alexandria is hunting for me. There's only one man on my side, a killer called Roman. He stirs something inside me, and every time I see him, my body aches. It's trying to tell me something, trying to reveal a secret...
I just don't know what.
Hitman's Baby is a standalone secret baby romance, the second in the Mob City universe - but don't worry, you can read it on its own! Holly doesn't do cliffhangers, and she guarantees an HEA every time. 

Hitman's Baby trails off of the first volume: Brawler's Baby. 

I am sure that this book will hit home for a lot of people. No not the mob side of it -- Though it could be... But just the words and actions of an abusee. The thoughts made me cry because there are moments of PTSD that kick in and the whole process of the inner workings of it all. You just have to question yourself and the life that you live because what if you were in their shoes. Would you be able to stop this? 

To write a review for this wouldn't do it justice. I found myself falling in love with the character as each second passed. But I was confused because there were multiple character perspectives and had to flip back pages to find out whose perspective that I was reading. Other than that, I loved how Holly Hart tied in the first novel to the second. 

So with a 4 out of 5 stars, read from the beginning of Mob City's books. 

Saturday, July 23, 2016

ARC: Twirled Bond - Emma Hart (Holly Woods Files #5)

nowavailable     TwirledBond-FINAL-high
Synopsis: If I thought Holly Woods was crazy before, I was wrong. Devin is finally married. Nonna's on the wedding warpath. Drake might be getting ideas. His mom just dropped a bombshell, and Bek is caught between a hot as hell FBI agent and my super-sweet little brother. And I still don't have the shoe closet Drake promised me when he moved in six months ago. At least there's one positive: the old, abandoned Holly Woods Theater is about to reopen, and there's nothing like a theater opening to bring people together... And make crazy grandmothers forget proposal agendas. Until that theater comes with a dead body. A very, very, very dead body. Chaos is coming to town. Everything I've ever known about Holly Woods might just be about to change.      

Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks | B&N

Review: YES, YES, YES, YES! The sixth installment is finally here and I loved every single moment of it! You know those moments where you know you are just going to be in love with the book even though you haven't read it yet? 

Yeah, that is definitely how i feel about all of Emma's books. Especially as a tearjerker like this. I cannot believe that she pulled this one on us but it really did make me cry throughout. No spoilers but have tissues at the ready. 

Not only does she write this book in such a way that you can see her thought process like: "Boom, plot twist here. No, wait, that wasn't the plot twist... Or was it?" I swear that I could see these words just getting pulled out of Emma's mind. 

So, obviously, I loved this with a huge 5 out of 5 stars. 

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 





Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | iBooks


Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | iBooks



By day, New York Times and USA Today bestselling New Adult author Emma Hart dons a cape and calls herself Super Mum to two beautiful little monsters. By night, she drops the cape, pours a glass of whatever she fancies - usually wine - and writes books.
Emma is working on Top Secret projects she will share with her followers and fans at every available opportunity. Naturally, all Top Secret projects involve a dashingly hot guy who likes to forget to wear a shirt, a sprinkling (or several) of hold-onto-your-panties hot scenes, and a whole lotta love.
She likes to be busy - unless busy involves doing the dishes, but that seems to be when all the ideas come to life.



Friday, July 22, 2016

The Shallows (Movie Review)

Release Date: June 24, 2016
Genre: Thriller
Synopsis: Still reeling from the loss of her mother, medical student Nancy Adams (Blake Lively) travels to a secluded beach for some much-needed solace. Despite the danger of surfing alone, Nancy decides to soak up the sun and hit the waves. Suddenly, a great white shark attacks, forcing her to swim to a giant rock for safety. Left injured and stranded 200 yards from shore, the frightened young woman must fight for her life as the deadly predator circles her in its feeding ground.

The Shallows was shot for what it was meant to be. Thrilling and ultimately feed into the fear that people have of sharks. But no big deal. It isn't like there is a 10 foot shark circling the oceans somewhere. Though, I do have to say that this movie included scenes that you didn't need. Like at all. 

I say this because I love Blake Lively but literally panning over her butt several times and her exhale as she goes out to the water is not a necessity. Once, maybe. Three times, overkill. Plus, literally three minutes of characters surfing was cool and all but you could have just panned it down to one minute. 

Which brings me to my next point: This movie was a thriller but it definitely overkilled the suspense as it led up to the dramatic effects. Replay the scenes in different areas, collaborate them together, and boom, you got The Shallows. 

Not saying that I didn't like this movie but it definitely could have included different things. But hey, it wasn't all bad so I do have to say that it was a good 3.5 out of 5 stars. 

Blog you later, awesome nerds. 

Thursday, July 21, 2016

ARC: Rescuing Emily - Susan Stoker (Delta Force Heroes #2)

Rescuing Emily (Delta Force Heroes Book 2) by Susan Stoker
Publication Date: July 19, 2016
Genre: Romance/Action
Renting out the apartment over his garage shouldn't be a life-changing decision, but when Delta soldier Cormac "Fletch" Fletcher meets Emily Grant, he feels an instant connection. He can't stand the thought of Emily and her young daughter living anywhere unsafe. Offering cheap rent is a small price to pay for their safety…and Fletch's peace of mind.

Being a single mother is difficult at best, but renting the extremely affordable space from Fletch makes Emily's life a lot easier…until it doesn't. Suddenly all the money she's saving thanks to Fletch's generosity is going into the hands of a blackmailer. And what little food Emily can afford goes to her daughter Annie, so the girl doesn't go to bed hungry…leaving Emily weaker and weaker.

When miscommunication has Emily assuming Fletch is in on the blackmail, he not only has to gain her trust, but also deal with a man holding a grudge against Fletch and his entire Delta Force team. A task made more difficult when the dangerous man gets his hands on Emily and Annie...

** Rescuing Emily is the 2nd book in the Delta Force Heroes Series. Each book is a stand-alone, with no cliffhanger endings.
Available From

Review: Is it possible to fall in love with all of the Delta Force Heroes? So far, I have not been disappointed and I am proud to use them on my book boyfriends list.

Scratch that.

These men are more book husband material.

Susan Stoker does not fail to deliver her fair share of alpha males with that one romantic scene that makes you swoon to the ends of the earth. Fletch and Emily make one of the best couples -- All of Stoker's couples are awww-worthy and awfully and sickly romantic -- but they blow best family out of the water.

I am usually turned away from books that include families stories but this one really blew my perception and made me want to read more and never let this book end. Men who can get along with children is probably one of the best things I could ever see.

This book is as thrilling as ever and is definitely a must read.

About Susan Stoker
New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author, Susan Stoker has a heart as big as the state of Texas where she lives, but this all American girl has also spent the last fourteen years living in Missouri, California, Colorado, and Indiana. She's married to a retired Army man who now gets to follow her around the country.
She debuted her first series in 2014 and quickly followed that up with the SEAL of Protection Series, which solidified her love of writing and creating stories readers can get lost in.
Find Susan Stoker Online
Hosted by: