Wednesday, April 29, 2015

The Age of Adaline (Movie Review)

Sorry for my lack of posting on my blog. It turns out, my professors are all conspirators and want to schedule their exams on the same date. So there's the fun in that. Well to make up for it, I want to post something every Wednesday and Friday, if at all possible. So here is my Wednesday post.

Release Date: April 24, 2015
Genre: Romance
Adaline Bowman (Blake Lively) has miraculously remained a youthful 29 years of age for nearly eight decades, never allowing herself to get close to anyone lest they discover her secret. However, a chance encounter with a charismatic philanthropist named Ellis Jones (Michiel Huisman) reawakens Adaline's long-suppressed passion for life and romance. When a weekend with Ellis' parents threatens to expose the truth, Adaline makes a decision that changes her life forever.

Words can only explain so much how perfect Blake Lively is. How is it possible that some people are more genetically blessed than others. I mean look... She's had her baby but she has a body like she has never had a child. What is her workout routine?!

Anyways, Blake Lively is the perfect woman for the role of Adaline. She hasn't aged a day since her days in Gossip Girl as SVDW or Serena Van Der Woodsen. Get the irony?

So I just want to summarize it. If you do not like romance movies where the whole theme is, "Love is Timeless", don't watch it because this is an absolutely romance/chick-flick movie. So if your significant other pissed you off and they hate this genre and you want to get back at them, take them to go see this.

I want to formally invite my readers to spread my blog around and continue to read my posts as well as finding me on Wanelo, a place where original or fan fiction stories can be posted for free.

Blake Lively is just an amazing actress and I give this movie a solid 4.5 out of 5 stars if my opinion matters at all.

Blog you later, awesome nerds.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Captive - Aimeé Carter (The Blackcoat Rebellion #2)

Published Date: November 25, 2014
Genre: Teen Dystopian
Synopsis: For the past two months, Kitty Doe's life has been a lie. Forced to impersonate the Prime Minister's niece, her frustration grows as her trust in her fake fiancé cracks, her real boyfriend is forbidden and the Blackcoats keep her in the dark more than ever.

But in the midst of discovering that her role in the Hart family may not be as coincidental as she thought, she's accused of treason and is forced to face her greatest fear: Elsewhere. A prison where no one can escape.

As one shocking revelation leads to the next, Kitty learns the hard way that she can trust no one, not even the people she thought were on her side. With her back against the wall, Kitty wants to believe she'll do whatever it takes to support the rebellion she believes in—but is she prepared to pay the ultimate price?

Let's say we are playing a game of checkers. If you were able to capture the queen, would you sacrifice a pawn? In all games, you get rid of the weakling of the game and that is exactly what Knox, Lila's fiancée or ex-fiancée does to Kitty to keep her away from the love of her life. 

But she can't tell anyone that the boy that they pulled her away from was the love of her life or else they would use him against her. Also she was Masked after all into Lila's perfect face and body. Knox keeps losing her temper with Kitty and keeps calling her a pawn. Why would anyone want to put up with that? Well she doesn't and she pretty flips tables to get to Benji, to pull him away from the life that she dragged him into. But by the time they packed their bags and were about to leave, they get caught. Fuck, fuck, fuckity, fuck. 

You have to read the rest to understand what happens next but I would most definitely recommend Captive - Aimeé Carter to get an inside look through Kitty's eyes of Elsewhere. We got a glimpse of it in the first novel but that was just a heartbreaking part. 

Will Benji and Kitty be together again, away and at their lake? Or will death do them apart. 

I rate this a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Hush, hush Saga - Becca Fitzpatrick

Finished Date: October 23, 2012
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal

Synopsis for Hush, hush: 

Romance was not part of Nora Grey's plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

Synopsis for Crescendo:

Nora Grey's life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn't pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it. A mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He's more elusive than ever (if that's possible) and what's worse, he seems to be spending time with Nora's archenemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadn't been acting so distant. Even with Scott's totally infuriating attitude, Nora finds herself drawn to him - despite her lingering feelings that he is hiding something.

If that weren't enough, Nora is haunted by images of her murdered father, and comes to question whether her Nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death. Desperate to figure out what happened, she puts herself in increasingly dangerous situations to get the answer. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything - and everyone - she trusts.

Synopsis for Silence:

Nora Grey can't remember the past five months of her life. After the initial shock of waking up in a cemetery and being told that she has been missing for weeks - with no one knowing where she was or who she was with - she tried to get her life back on track. Go to school, hang out with her best friend, Vee, and dodge mom's creepy new boyfriend.

But there is this voice in the back of her head, an idea that she can almost reach out and touch. Visions of angel wings and unearthly creatures that have nothing to do with the life she knows.

And this unshakable feeling that a part of her is missing.

Then Nora crosses paths with a sexy stranger, whom she feels a mesmerizing connection to. He seems to hold all the answers...and her heart. Every minute she spends with him grows more and more intense until she realizes she could be falling in love. Again.

Synopsis for Finale: 

Nora and Patch thought their troubles were behind them. Hank is gone and they should be able to put his ugly vendetta to rest. But in Hank's absence, Nora has become the unwitting head of the Nephilim and must finish what Hank began. Which ultimately means destroying the fallen angels - destroying Patch.

Nora will never let that happen, so she and Patch make a plan: lead everyone to believe they have broken up, and work the system from the inside. Nora will convince the Nephilim that they are making a mistake in fighting the fallen angels, and Patch will find out everything he can from the opposing side. They will end this war before it can even begin.

But the best-laid plans often go awry. Nora is put through the paces in her new role and finds herself drawn to an addictive power she never anticipated.

As the battle lines are drawn, Nora and Patch must confront the differences that have always been between them and either choose to ignore them or let them destroy the love they have always fought for.

The Hush, hush Saga by Becca Fitzpatrick is a chilling tale in the main protagonists view. Her name is Nora Grey and I can tell you that you will fall in love with her right away with her snarky attitude towards guys. That is until she meets Patch. She is dangerously coming close to falling for someone she knows she should steer away from but his mysteriousness draws her in immediately along with all of the danger that comes with him. Follow Fitzpatrick through the journey of Nora Grey's life. 

Upcoming book reviews that I will hopefully be doing will be Beckon Me - Cindy Thomas, Captive - Aimée Carter, and Twist - Karen Akins. I bundled these books together because they were so good but I didn't want to spam my blog and readers with four different reviews. I would recommend reading these books if you're in for romance and a thrilling story. 

I rate this a solid 4.5 out of 5 stars as an average of all four books.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Saturday, April 11, 2015

Fragile Spirits - Mary Lindsey (Souls #2)

Published Date: January 23, 2014
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy
Synopsis:Paul has always known he was a Protector, fated to serve a Speaker who could hear the voices of spirits lingering after death and help those souls find peace.
Vivienne ignores the voices of the dead.Paul has always followed the Protector’s rule book, preparing diligently for the day when he’d be matched with his Speaker and fulfill his destiny.Vivienne never does what she’s told.So when Paul is matched with Vivienne, they both find the pairing less than satisfactory. But a kidnapping, a malevolent spirit and power stronger than both of them may just prove that they are two halves of the same whole.In a stunning story about the beauty of fate and the power of secrets, Mary Lindsey returns to the world of Shattered Souls with a breathtaking thrill-ride of a novel.**Note from author: This book begins one month after Shattered Souls leaves off. Lenzi and Alden are featured in this book, but reading Shattered Souls is not a prerequisite.

In the first book, Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey, we were introduced to a new character near the end. No spoilers, I promise. But this character is a new Protector and they are getting assigned their first Speaker. But this girl is the total opposite of him from a first glance. 

When you don't get along with someone, romantically, friendship, or familial, you tend to bicker it out until one party gets tired and gives it up. Throughout the book, this happens constantly but it isn't the kind of arguing where it makes you want to cry in a corner but the kind where it makes you smile and laugh, just a little bit.

Now since the characters have been introduced in the synopsis, I think that Paul and Vivienne's storyline goes along the lines of Lenzi and Alden's, however, just from the male's perspective. Both Lenzi and Vivienne are snarky and confident in their powers once they get introduced to them while Alden and Paul are both protective [obviously] and lovers of their Speakers. They also help their partners get used to the idea of their powers and help them use it. Also another character from the pervious novel will show up and make you want to flip tables in the short run.

In the next book, if there will be one, I predict it will be about Race and Maddy and how their relationship developed since the beginning of time, maybe show a little snippet of why Race and his first partner never got along. 

I really liked this book and I don't know if it is because of the paranormal activities in the series, but it is definitely a good read. 

So thanks for reading and I hope that you will click that follow button and share my posts with all of your Google circles, Facebook friends, and so on. The next book will either be Hush, hush by Becca Fitzpatrick, Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick, or Twist by Karen Akins. 

I rate this book a good 3 out of 5 stars.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Shattered Souls - Mary Lindsey (Souls #1)

Published Date: December 6, 2012
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

Synopsis:A thrilling debut story of death, love, destiny, and danger

Lenzi hears voices and has visions - gravestones, floods, a boy with steel gray eyes. Her boyfriend, Zak, can't help, and everything keeps getting louder and more intense. Then Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, who reveals that she's a reincarnated Speaker - someone who can talk to and help lost souls - and that he has been her Protector for centuries.

Now Lenzi must choose between her life with Zak and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. But time is running out: a malevolent spirit is out to destroy Lenzi, and he will kill her if she doesn't make a decision soon.

Lenzi is a normal girl or so she thought. She is dating a hot college guy who is a musician just like her and her father. Someone that she could relate too. But then Alden, the sexy guy who claims that he was born to be her Protector because she is a Speaker. Someone who talks to the dead. Or the dead talks to her. He also claims that they have known each other in past lives. Say what? 

Hot but a little crazy Alden drives Lenzi crazy. Her boyfriend as well who starts to show his jealous side as Alden enters her life and steals the affection of Lenzi from him.

As a single reviewer, I absolutely loved this thrilling book. There is a forbidden romance, almost re-telling the story of Romeo and Juliet with the exception of their lives of course. However, I think that Lindsey rushed through the plot and did not allow it to develop. It didn't make the book worse or anything but if it was broken up into other series, I would have loved it even more. If anyone is looking a for a action-seeking novel with a hint of thrilling and yet forbidden romance, this is the book for you. It is definitely redirected towards the Young Adult audience because it has no scenes in it where it makes the readers hormones go all jumpy but it definitely has its AWWW moments, if you get what I mean.

I was going to write a review about Twist - Karen Akins, which came out today for those who did not know already from my earlier posts but unfortunately, I will have to wait to write that until I am able to buy it. 

Anyways, I am reading the second book as of now and I will be posting a review in a couple days. 

Thanks for reading this post and don't forget to push that follow button on the right hand side of my blog.

I rate this book a good 4 out of 5 stars.

Blog you later, awesome book nerds.