Wednesday, August 31, 2016

The Redemption of Roan - Kathy Coomans (Syndicate #2)

Published Date: December 13, 2015
Genre: Romance/Action
Synopsis: Roan Diamond’s loyalty to the family may be obligated by blood, but nobody ever said he had to love them all, right?
As the next in line to head the Diamond dynasty, he has loose ends to take care of, and one of those is his brother Royal. Yet his plans for revenge fall apart the minute he lays eyes on Alina—Royal’s ex-girlfriend, who also happens to be the daughter of the rival Solokov family.
As a mafia princess, Alina Solokov knew it wouldn’t be easy when she made the decision ten years ago to leave the family for a new life at a college in England—but betrayal is often a dish served cold by those who you love the most. Now, back in the United States after a job offer that she couldn’t refuse, her new found strength is pushed to the limits when Royal returns to claim her for his own.
When the man who captures her heart amongst the chaos is front and center in a lifestyle she swore never to return to, can she hold her ground and fight being sucked back into the black hole that is the mafia underworld? Or will Roan’s love be worth the ultimate sacrifice?

I WANT, I WANT, I WANT, I WANT.

I can say it all I want because it's true. I want Roan to be my book boyfriend forever and ever because of how sweet he is. 

We met Cain and fell in love with his tough boy exterior and got to see Calla break him down. 

In this book, we get to see softy Roan get even more softened up by Alina. But plot twist, it is his older brother's ex-girlfriend. Eyes on her and her only, you just have to slowly fall in love with him more than you already have as he described the first encounter of her. He wants her. She wants him. But fate seems to have other plans in mind. 

Especially since there were so many roadblocks, I was getting frustrated with this book. 

Do you remember Royal from the first book? Yeah, I didn't like him either because he was just a kid who thought everything got handed to him on a platter. That is the one thing that I hated about this... He wanted the empire but his little brother got it instead. 

Want to know why? Because Roan is the gold-hearted man. He only wants what is best for her. For his family. For everything. He puts everything before himself and that just shows that he deserved the ultimate spot on top when the other leaders went down six feet under. 

I am such a fan of Kathy Coopmans because she has such a fantastic writing style that will keep you on your toes through and through. So I mean, how could I not give this a 4.7 out of 5 stars. 

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

ARC: When Love Breaks - Kate Squires

Published Date: August 30, 2016
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: From the author who brought you That Kiss, That Promise, I Will Catch You, and Tracing Hearts, comes another tale of love and loss.

Elora Foster and Logan Turner never met, until the day she showed up on his doorstep. After a simple, chance encounter, the two embark on a journey that will change both their lives forever.

With good intentions and a heart of gold, Elora has aspirations of being a nurse. But, when she’s hired to take care of Logan, a double amputee, she’s instantly put off by his grouchy demeanor and bad attitude. She’s not sure if taking this job was the right move, or the worst decision of her life.

Logan, who was recently released from the hospital, has no intention of letting anyone take care of him. He’s sure there’s nothing that could change his hopeless situation, so he resigns himself to his fate. When he meets Elora, instant friction begins, but soon, he realizes there's something different about her. Try as he might to behave himself, he finds that his negative attitude upsets her frequently—and to his surprise, it bothers him.

As time moves on, the two become more acquainted, and strong feelings begin to grow, but a road block threatens to derail any relationship that might develop. Just when they think they’ve found a way around it, their lives take a turn for the worse, and they're both faced with a gut wrenching decision which has the potential to tear them apart.

Can she save this lost soul? Can he get over the past enough to see she’s the one? Can they work through the worst problem they’ve ever known, or will the strain be too much?

I actually really enjoyed this book because well, it's Kate Squires. How could I not enjoy her books?

She brings together one of the hardest question for me to answer because I don't know how I feel about it in reality. Don't get me wrong, I loved this book nonetheless. But When Love Breaks really gets to your heart, you just have no choice but to end up falling in love with Logan Turner as his icy cold exterior is melted by Elora Foster's golden warm heart.

Together, they piece together one of the couples that cannot break under any circumstance even as a lot of roadblocks come their way.

Will there be a chance for Logan and Elora?

Only if you read this book, will you find out what happens in this 4.6 out of 5 stars.

Monday, August 29, 2016

The Wrath of Cain - Kathy Coopmans (Syndicate #1)

Published Date: October 27, 2016
Genre: New Adult
Synopsis: *Mature Audience Only due to graphic sex and violence, a sexy Alpha Male and language.* 

Watch the Wrath unfold! Clubs. Mafia. Drugs. Murder. And the man they all know as Scarface, will leave you guessing in book one of this brand new series... 

Eloped at the age of eighteen. Separated at the age of eighteen. Disappeared at the age of eighteen. This is what happened to Calla Greer. Her perfect life was shattered on her wedding day when she caught her husband Cain with another woman just hours after they said I do. With her heart broken, she moves across the border to Windsor, Canada to get away from the nightmare she stumbled upon. Hell bent on going to college and fulfilling her dream of becoming a lawyer. 

After six long years of still being married, Calla returns to Detroit to have Cain sign divorce papers. 

Only Cain has changed. 

He’s bitter, angry and for a good reason. 

At least that’s what he’s been telling himself for the past six years. 

Cain Bexley had fifteen minutes to destroy his marriage to protect the woman he loved. 

He did the only thing he could think of to make her leave. He jumped in bed with a woman. Life at home was a lie. Lives were at risk. People are not who they seem. 

Not even Cain’s dad or Calla’s parents are who they say they are. When Calla shows up begging for a divorce. He shows her exactly who he is and no way in hell will he sign those papers. 

What happens when six years later she returns? The only woman he has loved. A woman who has changed herself! When all the lies surface will she be able to forgive everyone she has trusted in her life or will Calla turn to the man who destroyed her?


Fair right? I think so and I am going to tell you why.

This book started off great. Really great for a matter of fact. Then it got to chapter 2. Dang it. Dang it all.

The Wrath of Cain is a hot and steamy book but I am sorry, how he lost his temper with the main girl drove me about insane because she did nothing wrong and he claims that he did everything for her. Even breaking her heart. So what the heck? You break a girl's heart for her? Why can't she just be young and in love.

No... She has to face the wrath of Cain in the matters of fighting for love.

But then, it got good again near the end. No, not because it was nearly over but because I really liked the whole concept of facing your demons. Your evil. Even if it will drive you to the brink of insanity. So, all I am going to say is that you should read this if you are able to keep up with the ups and downs of the storyline. Through thick and thin.

My rating is a 3.5 out of 5 stars. 

Blog you later, awesome book nerds. 

Sunday, August 28, 2016

ARC: Refrain - Kennedy Ryan (Soul #3)

Release Date: August 15, 2016
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: People dream of a love that runs deep. So deep it feels like it's always been with you, just waiting for the person who'll own your heart and soul forever. So few ever find it, but for Rhyson Gray and Kai Pearson, happily ever after was only the beginning...

One of the biggest rock stars in the world and one of the brightest rising stars make a life together. Sometimes it's glamour-filled days and blissed out nights, but it's mostly staying true in the too-bright glare of the spotlight. It's long stretches where the road is lonely and the work is hard. It's living in a love that's the safest place you know even while danger lurks at your door.

Book 3 of The Soul series is an emotionally-charged epic conclusion that had to be told and should not be missed for fans of this series and this couple!

It took me a while to find the words to describe the unintended sequel to the Soul series. Which is why the review is coming out late.

Rhys and Kai have been my favorite book couple since I discovered them through a random conversation with Kennedy Ryan, a giving and beautiful person on the inside and out. You can't not fall in love with them because of Kai's stubbornness and the love she feels for everyone. She has this quality about her where even if you wrong her, she will still feel compassion for you.

On top of that, Kennedy Ryan gives us the thrill of mystery of "who done it?" throughout. You're figuring that out on top of falling harder for Rhys and Kai. You will want their relationship. You will want them so bad that it is impossible to turn away from the book.

This is a one sit read. Don't budge, don't move, don't speak. Just feel what Kennedy Ryan is feeling.

She drives your mind and soul insane as you continue to unravel this story.

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Ghostbusters (Movie Review)

Release Date: July 11, 2016
Genre: Fantasy
Synopsis: Paranormal researcher Abby Yates (Melissa McCarthy) and physicist Erin Gilbert are trying to prove that ghosts exist in modern society. When strange apparitions appear in Manhattan, Gilbert and Yates turn to engineer Jillian Holtzmann for help. Also joining the team is Patty Tolan, a lifelong New Yorker who knows the city inside and out. Armed with proton packs and plenty of attitude, the four women prepare for an epic battle as more than 1,000 mischievous ghouls descend on Times Square.

To say the least, this movie was well-played and obviously a cute movie. Very feministic if you think about it. Female ghostbusters? Yeah, pretty feministic.

There really isn't much to say about this movie other than that Chris Hemsworth is still deliciously likable in this movie even though he is acting below his intelligence level in book. I am not going to lie to the general public but maybe I am biased on seeing Hemsworth dancing and shirtless and absolutely chic with his glasses.

He would be the only thing to draw me back into watching the movie again but not a movie I would buy or even watch in theaters again.

I laughed a lot in this movie but hey, it was a laughable movie.

Like I said, it was cute with a 3 out of 5 stars.

Blog you later, awesome nerds.


Friday, August 26, 2016

ARC: The Sex Education of ME - LB Dunbar

SEX-Banner-BLOGTOUR
"LB Dunbar has given us a story that will make you love yourself and reach for what you deserve in life. No matter what stage of life you are in I think we can all relate to the emotions! Emme and Merek will set your world ablaze!"
-Schmexy Girl Book Blog
TSEOME-Amazon
SEX-nowlive

Amazon: http://amzn.to/29BKR6Q iBooks: http://apple.co/29A7GBU KOBO: http://bit.ly/29V7Szk B&N: http://bit.ly/2anw2AJ

SEX-teaser1
Blurb: I’m forty, flabby, and frustrated. Don’t get me wrong, I have a good home, a decent job, and great children. I had a loving marriage for twenty years where we had our ups and downs. It wasn’t perfect; but it wasn’t awful. Then he died. After the grief took its course, and the reality of my life set in, I grew frustrated. It wasn’t the bills or the struggle to keep my interest in my work. It was life without a man – the only man I’d been with for twenty years. And before you go all feminist on me, it isn’t that I can’t be an independent woman, but there are certain areas where a man is necessary. You need a f*ck buddy, my friend said. I didn’t even know what that meant. Is it friends with benefits?, I asked. Better, you don’t even have to be friends, she offered. Boy, did I need an education in the modern workings of dating, and sex. +++++++++++++++++ A coming-of-an-older age novel. Something new from L.B. Dunbar -- a stand alone story!

Review: What a cute novel of finding love where you least expect it.  I think that this is a book that is a coming of age. We all have those days where we feel ugly but Emme makes me feel confident even if she doesn't. 

She sounds beautiful and smart and I wanted to be her. Especially since she got the beautiful man that is teaching her the art of modern sex. 

She wanted something simple. He wanted something more. How often does that happen? 

Dating and sex. Is it really that different? Just kidding, I totally know the difference... *insert cricket noise and awkward side glance* 

I think that this book was a cute one and definitely one should read because LB Dunbar does a fantastic job at creating such a lovely novel. 3.8 out of 5 stars. 

Blog you later and keep reading for more details!
13836009_1734752873409131_758519183_o
Author Bio: I’d love to say I’ve written for 10,000 hours, and that makes me a pro. But I can’t say that. What I can say is I had a story in my head that wouldn’t go away. I thought typing it in my computer would be the end of things, but it only led to another story and another. I love reading, so characters in my head isn’t something new. What is new is my creation of them. Hope you enjoy my favorites as much as I do. Happy reading!

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Suicide Squad (Movie Review)

Release Date: August 5, 2016
Genre: Action
Synopsis: Figuring they're all expendable, a U.S. intelligence officer decides to assemble a team of dangerous, incarcerated supervillains for a top-secret mission. Now armed with government weapons, Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and other despicable inmates must learn to work together. Dubbed Task Force X, the criminals unite to battle a mysterious and powerful entity, while the diabolical Joker (Jared Leto) launches an evil agenda of his own.

Super villains as the main characters with the epic bad romance with it? If your a hero-loving person, you'll stuff this anti-hero shenanigans because of these characters. They bring to life one of the most action packed movies of 2016. 

Harley Quinn's voice and laugh is absolutely addicting and her character will make you want to go insane. Just like her. You won't be her. But insane just like her who just wants that pre-conceived notion of a quote unquote happy life. You're married, have kids, an expresso machine. 

Now the more villainous character that mysterious and powerful and supernatural creeps me out. She reminds me of some form of Diana from Lights Out but that is my personal opinion. Anyways, I am always villain loving so I thought this movie was absolutely fantastic. 

Enough to watch it a second time, that's for sure. With a 4.6 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later. 

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

ARC: Prisoned - Marni Mann

PrisonedeBook
Release Date: August 24, 2016
Genre: Dark Romance
Synopsis: When I opened my eyes, I was in a cell, my body covered in bruises. Not a jail. I’d been kidnapped and imprisoned. I wasn’t alone. I shared the cell with Garin Woods, the man I’d loved since I was a kid. The man I couldn’t be with because of the secret. A man who would kill me if he found out what that secret was. Someone wanted to torture me. Torture us. One of us deserved it. It wasn’t Garin.   

Goodreads

Review: Marni Mann has done it again and I loved this book with all my heart. How disgusting and filthy the words were and how dark it turned out to be. How dark and twisted a person's mind can truly be.

Prisoned is truly a book that has been anticipated and will be going on my bookshelves physically. I want that cover on my shelf because i am proud of how dark and twisted my mind is to have enjoyed this book. 

Garin Woods will be placed on your book boyfriends list and his alpha maleness will drive you crazy in the hormones. Kyle is just beautiful on both the inside and outside. She will do anything to protect the ones that she loves. 

My favorite quote from the book is in the picture below. That's just how reality is and how dark life truly is. 

With a 5 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later. 
   
IMG_3725
Giveaway: $10 Amazon Gift Card & Signed paperback of Prisoned
 
 
   
IMG_3747

On September 17th from 2:00-4:00PM EST at the Sarasota, Florida Barnes & Noble, Marni will be signing books. This will be the first place where signed Prisoned paperbacks will be offered. If you would like further information regarding address & phone number, please feel free to share this FB event link: https://www.facebook.com/events/805596276207399/

About the Author

Bestselling author Marni Mann knew she was going to be a writer since middle school. While other girls her age were daydreaming about teenage pop stars, Marni was fantasizing about penning her first novel. She crafts sexy, titillating stories that weave together her love of darkness, mystery, passion, and human emotions. A New Englander at heart, she now lives in Sarasota, Florida, with her husband and their two dogs, who have been characters in her books. When she’s not nose deep in her laptop, working on her next novel, she’s scouring for chocolate, sipping wine, traveling, or devouring fabulous books.  
Connect with Marni

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/Z8b5z
Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2ayhI8u
Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2aKxNe4
Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2arY2Yt
Twitter: http://bit.ly/2arYBBz
Instagram: http://bit.ly/2aKzvMr
Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2avbGb2
  cropped-SSFprLogo3.png

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

ARC: Feyness - E.S. Carter

Feyness Banner Feyness
Release Date: August 23
Genre: Dark Romance
Goodreads

Synopsis: I don't see dead people.
I see you.
I see every incarnation of you.
I see the history of your soul.
I can see your aura soaked in the blood of your previous lives.
Most people are inherently good or evil.
Some flit between darkness and light.
Few can change the fabric of their essence; it's a fight that most are too weak to win.
He was once darkness.
An evil so pure that his very soul is black and yet I am drawn to him like a moth to a flame.
Some days, I feel like I am drowning, the waves of my feelings stealing the very air from my lungs.
Other days, I feel nothing at all.
I'm unsure which is worse; gasping for air or dying from this thirst.
Can you learn to breathe underwater when you find someone worth drowning for?


Feyness is a dark standalone.
Readers of a sensitive disposition may want to step away from the book.
Step away, nothing to see here.
Readers who like to dance on the dark side, come on in and enjoy the ride.

Review: I cannot seem to form the functional words for this book other than that I loved this. I loved Cole. I loved Faye. I loved the story plot.

Words to say for this book cannot be put together. After such innocent tales of her Numbers series, I did not expect this but I loved this, her, and the darkness that enveloped my heart. 

To say that this is a dark stand-alone is so small. Yeah, it is dark but it is deep in that department. 

I am so excited for everyone to read this because it is just something that made me speechless. I loved every single moment of this book: Falling for the characters, the story, and the darkness. 

Take a step into the messed-up world of Feyness. 

With  5 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later. 

Feyness Teaser 3
Feyness Teaser 2

Buy Links

AMAZON * B&N * KOBO * iBOOKS

About the Author
ES-SecondaryLogo
Eli Carter is a mum of three from the U.K.
She is a stay-at-home mum and a part-time advocate for families of children with special needs.
Her life is pretty manic, and she often gets asked, "How do you find the time to write?"
The answer is simple; she never sleeps, but not from lack of trying.
Reading and writing are her therapy, her solace and often the one thing that gets her through the long nights. (That and copious amounts of caffeine and sugar!)
She loves to connect with readers, so please feel free to friend/follow her on Facebook, IG and Twitter or join her reader's group, E's Elite.


Feyness Teaser

Hosted By:
Logo PNG (1)

Monday, August 22, 2016

ARC: Deadly Hunt - K.L. Humphreys

Deadly Hunt.jpg

RELEASE BLITZ

DEADLY HUNT

by

K.L. HUMPHREYS

Deadly Hunt E-book Cover
ac9eb-goodreads
Deadly Hunt PB cover

BLURB

Sophia Dallas has recently been discharged from the Army after suffering at the hands of the enemy. On her journey to healing, she has finally started to live her life, but the past never really stays in the past.
Nathan Slade, a former FBI agent, now owns his own P.I business, has taken on a case that could make or break him. In all the chaos, he meets the love of his life.
What happens when the man Nathan's hunting also happens to be a man on the hunt himself - only his target happens to be the love of Nathan's life?
Lives will be lost, leaving pain and suffering in the wake of destruction while Nathan and Sophia learn the hard way that the future is never promised – especially theirs

Review: I think that this book should be more labeled as a dark romance because there are a ridiculous amount of torture and triggers involved in this book. But I did like the characters to an extent. 

They played an incredible role in playing things that are hard to talk about. 

We have hostages, adventures, sexy time, pain, suffering, and heartache. But round and round we go in the story. After the third time, you kind of just got tired of everything and everyone in the book. 

ARC's are usually not well formatted but this one really blew the bad formatting out of the water. I felt confused because I felt some flashbacks were in italics and others weren't... But that is just me. 

Not to get me wrong, this book is something all should read but be warned of emotional triggers. With a 4.3 out of 5 stars, I will blog you later. 









PreOrder Now

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

13432426_1414842485196401_4029303603451549161_n (1)
KL Humphreys was born in London, England but now lives in Ireland with the love of her life. In a way, the world has him to thank for her Debut Novel. After years of thinking about writing the story that had been dying to get out of her head, she finally confided in her other half. He gave her an enthusiastic "Go for It!" and she started writing it the very next day.
Miss Humphreys loves music, especially pop, R'n'B and rap and if she's writing you will find it playing somewhere nearby. She also loves all romance novels but of course, Romantic Suspense is her go to genre. When she isn't writing it...it's a good bet she is curled up somewhere reading one. If she doesn't have a book in her hand, you might want to check to make sure she isn't sick. When not reading or writing, she loves to spend time with her loved ones especially while watching a football game (that's soccer for you Americans)... COME ON YOU GUNNERS!!!!
AUTHOR LINKS
Hosted by SASS
sass gif

Sunday, August 21, 2016

ARC: Mr. Corporate - J.A. Huss (Mister #3)

Published Date: August 17, 2016
Genre: Romance
Synopsis: Weston Conrad is the best headhunter in the business. That handsome smile goes a long way towards convincing most people to trust him with their future. 
I’m not most people. I’m his direct competition. And it doesn’t hurt to be just the kind of woman he’s been looking for. 
I’m gonna flash you these legs, Weston Conrad. 
I’m gonna wear low-cut shirts and micro-mini skirts. 
I’m gonna dazzle you with wit and conversation and kiss those lips like they’re exactly what I’ve been waiting for. 
So don’t hate me when you figure out my secret. 
You understand, right? You’re Mr. Corporate and this is just business. 

Aw hell, J.A. Huss can never disappoint her readers, including myself. 

With the Mister's series third book on my kindle, I got another sleepless night because Tori and Weston are absolutely enthralling to read with their love-hate relationship. Both strong headed -- Absolutely stubborn and will not budge from their opinions of each other. 

More of the mystery of what actually happened to the Mister's is revealed but not too much because this wouldn't be a proper J.A. Huss book without her coyness and shyness of giving us the truth that we need. 

Not only that, we get a deeper look in a chart of who is involved with who and why they are so important to the storyline and trust me, it will have your head reeling. 

Mr. Corporate is not my favorite mister if I have to rank them from the ones that I met. 

LIST OF MISTERS THAT I CLAIM: 
1. Mr Romantic
2. Mr. Corporate
3. Mr. Perfect 
4. Mr. Mysterious (TBD)
5. Mr. Match (TBD) 

I love the misters all around and their story of being falsely accused has me reeling. I want more and more and more. There is no satisfying my appetite to finish the Mister series. Maybe Huss will surprise us by releasing Match and Mysterious early. 

Sure, we can read them as stand-alones but you will not want to do that. 

Figure out the mystery behind the Misters. 

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Lights Out (Movie Review)

Release Date: July 22, 2016
Genre: Horror
Synopsis: When Rebecca (Teresa Palmer) left home, she thought that her childhood fears were behind her. As a young girl growing up, she was never really sure of what was real when the lights went out at night. Now, her little brother Martin (Gabriel Bateman) is experiencing the same unexplained and terrifying events that jeopardized her safety and sanity. Holding a mysterious attachment to their mother (Maria Bello), a supernatural entity has returned with a vengeance to torment the entire family.

Absolutely terrifying and yet all-around thrilling. 

The last time that I watched a horror movie, I yawned and closed my eyes -- Before I knew it, the movie was over. But this was one movie that kept delivering the blows, one after another. I had no break to run off to the bathroom or fall asleep.

Besides, this came out on the birthday and it is so hard to say no to not watch it. 

Lights Out is something that I can watch all over again, know what scary parts there are but still be on the edge of my seat, buried behind my hands, or someone else. Cleverly created, they finally created the movie that was widely anticipated in 2013 with their advertisements. 

Diane is something that I will always fear because dark memories will always reside in peoples' minds. Even the happiest of people can have that one moment. After all, there is no you without me. 

With a good 4.8 out of 5 stars, get ready to hide under your blankets, close your doors, and keep your lights on. 

Blog you later, awesome nerds.

Friday, August 19, 2016

Blitz: Neighbor Dearest - Penelope Ward

NEIGHBOR_DEAREST_LIVE.jpg
Neighbor Dearest is LIVE and on limited-time release sale for $3.99 (Changing to $4.99 after release. This will be the ONLY sale.) A sexy STANDALONE friends-to-lovers story that does NOT have to be read in conjunction with any other book.

AVAILABLE ON ALL RETAILERS:


neighbor Dearest.jpg
Blurb
A STANDALONE NOVEL that does NOT need to be read in conjunction with any other book.

From New York Times bestselling author, Penelope Ward, comes a friends-to-lovers story with sexy new characters.

After getting dumped, the last thing I needed was to move next door to someone who reminded me of my ex-boyfriend, Elec.

Damien was a hotter version of my ex.

The neighbor I’d dubbed “Angry Artist” also had two massive dogs that kept me up with their barking.

He wanted nothing to do with me. Or so I thought until one night I heard laughter coming through an apparent hole in my bedroom wall.

Damien had been listening to all of my phone sessions with my therapist.

The sexy artist next door now knew all of my deepest secrets and insecurities.

We got to talking.

He set me straight with tips to get over my breakup.

He became a good friend, but Damien made it clear that he couldn’t be anything more.

Problem was, I was falling hard for him anyway. And as much as he pushed me away, I knew he felt the same…because his heartbeat didn’t lie.

I thought my heart had been broken by Elec, but it was alive and beating harder than ever for Damien.

I just hoped he wouldn’t shatter it for good.

Author's note – Neighbor Dearest is a full-length standalone novel. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

With a Girl.jpg

Excerpt
Copyright © 2016 by
Penelope Ward
Looking tense, he placed his hands slowly into his pockets as he looked at me. “What exactly happened last night?”
“What are you talking about?”
Nice try dodging the question.
He moved in closer to me. “What am I talking about? You leaving me with a giant fucking basket of muffins and running off before I could even say anything? Ring a bell?”
“I thought you’d be alone. It caught me off guard.”
His eyes softened. “You were upset…”
“No, I wasn’t.”
“You’re a terrible liar, Chelsea. Fucking horrible at it. You don’t hide your feelings very well.”
“You think you know just about everything there is to know about me, don’t you?”
“Not everything. But it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to read you. It’s one of the things I like about you, though. You’re one of the least fake people I’ve ever met.”
“Then, tell me. Why do you think I was upset?”
“Honestly? I think you’re confused about me.”
“Confused…”
“Yes. I think you’re wondering why I opted not to have dinner with you and instead ended up with a woman I’d literally just met, someone who isn’t as sweet as you and sure as fuck isn’t as pretty as you. So, you’re wondering what the hell I was thinking. Am I right?”
That’s exactly what I was thinking.
He continued, “I know we haven’t known each other for very long, but I do feel a connection with you, okay? If you’ve sensed something, you’re not imagining it.”
“Well, if I wasn’t confused before…now I definitely am.”
“I feel like I need to say this now, because I can’t stand the thought of you thinking that I somehow find you undesirable when it’s exactly the opposite.”
I crossed my arms. “Again. Not following you.”
He closed his eyes as if to try to find the right words. “It’s just that I know for sure that I can’t ever be what someone like you needs in a boyfriend, in a partner. It’s not that we wouldn’t have fun or be great together at first. I’m just not good for you in the long-term—not marriage material. And the reasons are too complex to get into, except to say that it has nothing to do with you and everything to do with me. I can’t, in good conscience, start something with a girl like you.”
“A girl like me…”
“Yes. You’re not the kind of girl a guy takes home for a quick fuck. You’re the girl he keeps.”
Right. Just like Elec did.


About the Author:
Penelope Ward
PENELOPE WARD.jpg
Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling author. She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor, before switching to a more family-friendly career. She is the proud mother of a beautiful 11-year-old girl with autism and a 9-year-old boy. Penelope and her family reside in Rhode Island.

Connect with Penelope Ward:

       Stalk Her: Facebook | Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Private Group

Additional Books by Penelope Ward

RoomHate:

Stuck-Up Suit: (co-written with Vi Keeland)


Cocky Bastard: (co-written with Vi Keeland)

Sins of Sevin:

Stepbrother Dearest:

Jake Undone (Jake #1):


My Skylar

Jake Understood (Jake #2):

Gemini:


GIVEAWAY
$50 Amazon Gift Card


THANK YOU!

TRSOR_PROMOTIONS.jpg

 
DESIGN BY THE BLOG DECORATOR